Pesach Updates/New Products
|April 17, 2019
Carrots and citrus fruits are arriving in the U.S. from Eretz Yisroel and are subject to the halachos applying to Israeli produce. As an example, Trader Joe’s is selling Israeli tangerines. Click here for instructions on the Star-K website.
Biur Ma’aser is required this year for ma’aser in one’s possession.
Click here to read about this Mitzvah on the Star-K website.
Shemitta Wine – Any 2015 wine from Israel was produced from Shemitta produce. Due to lack of sales in Eretz Yisroel, a large stock of this wine has been sent to the U.S. within the past few weeks and is now being sold in many wine stores. There are a number of concerns with the way this wine has been handled, resulting in problems in consuming this wine. Each person should consult his Rav for guidance or choose a different wine.
Unsweetened Coconut Chips
Unsweetened Coconut Flakes
Triple Filtered Coconut Oil
Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
Kedem also has Fresh pressed grape juice as an O/UP Grape Juice without sulfites.
Kedem will be introducing 2 new grape juice items: Sangria Grape Juice and Sangria Sparkling Grape Juice.
Latest Pesach Alerts
12 Nissan 5779 – April 17, 2019
Please be advised that as of April 16, 2019, Sami’s Makolet, located at 511-515 N. Fairfax Avenue, Los Angeles CA,
is no longer certified by OK Kosher Certification.
The O/U certifies Bianco Azzuro Moscato Wine. This product is labeled with a plain O/U and it is not certified for Passover. Even the bottles that have the letters “OUP” as part of the production code are NOT certified for Passover.
Please be aware that the Manischewitz Concord Wine available at local BC Liquor stores is not certified Kosher for Passover.
Manischewitz makes wine special for Pesach with an O/U-P n the label and their year-round label states “not for Passover use” as it contains Kitniyot.
O/U Passover certification may have O/UP or Kosher for Passover ink-jetted on the Year-round version of the product. In addition, O/UP or O/U Kosher for Passover stickers are only authorized when they bear the company or the brand name of the product. Stores or distributors have been known to place Kosher for Passover stickers on products which were not manufactured with Passover standards.